Tag Archives: Code of Virginia

Felony Virginia Laws 18.2-10 Penalty Fairfax Richmond Beach Loudoun Prince William

Felony Defense – Virginia Lawyers

There are many different penalties for Felony charges in Virginia. If you have been charged with a Felony in Virginia, contact our firm immediately for help.

We have client meeting locations in Fairfax Richmond Virginia Beach Loudoun Prince William Fredericksburg & Lynchburg.

Felony Virginia Laws 18.2-10

Felony Virginia Laws 18.2-10

Felony Defense In Virginia

Va. Code 18.2-10

18.2-10. Punishment for conviction of felony; penalty.

The authorized punishments for conviction of a felony are:

(a) For Class 1 felonies, death, if the person so convicted was 18 years of age or older at the time of the offense and is not determined to be mentally retarded pursuant to 19.2-264.3:1.1, or imprisonment for life and, subject to subdivision (g), a fine of not more than $100,000. If the person was under 18 years of age at the time of the offense or is determined to be mentally retarded pursuant to 19.2-264.3:1.1, the punishment shall be imprisonment for life and, subject to subdivision (g), a fine of not more than $100,000.

(b) For Class 2 felonies, imprisonment for life or for any term not less than 20 years and, subject to subdivision (g), a fine of not more than $100,000.

(c) For Class 3 felonies, a term of imprisonment of not less than five years nor more than 20 years and, subject to subdivision (g), a fine of not more than $100,000.

(d) For Class 4 felonies, a term of imprisonment of not less than two years nor more than 10 years and, subject to subdivision (g), a fine of not more than $100,000.

(e) For Class 5 felonies, a term of imprisonment of not less than one year nor more than 10 years, or in the discretion of the jury or the court trying the case without a jury, confinement in jail for not more than 12 months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both.

(f) For Class 6 felonies, a term of imprisonment of not less than one year nor more than five years, or in the discretion of the jury or the court trying the case without a jury, confinement in jail for not more than 12 months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both.

(g) Except as specifically authorized in subdivision (e) or (f), or in Class 1 felonies for which a sentence of death is imposed, the court shall impose either a sentence of imprisonment together with a fine, or imprisonment only. However, if the defendant is not a natural person, the court shall impose only a fine.

For any felony offense committed (i) on or after January 1, 1995, the court may, and (ii) on or after July 1, 2000, shall, except in cases in which the court orders a suspended term of confinement of at least six months, impose an additional term of not less than six months nor more than three years, which shall be suspended conditioned upon successful completion of a period of post-release supervision pursuant to 19.2-295.2 and compliance with such other terms as the sentencing court may require. However, such additional term may only be imposed when the sentence includes an active term of incarceration in a correctional facility.

For a felony offense prohibiting proximity to children as described in subsection A of 18.2-370.2, the sentencing court is authorized to impose the punishment set forth in that section in addition to any other penalty provided by law.

Some of the courts we cover in Virginia:
Fairfax Circuit Court Richmond Circuit Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030
400 North Ninth Street
John Marshall Courts Building
Richmond, VA 23219
Fairfax General District Court Richmond General District Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030
920 Hull Street, Northside
Richmond, VA 23224-4070
Fairfax Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court Richmond Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030-4020
Oliver Hill Courts Building
1600 Oliver Hill WaySuite C181
Richmond, VA 23219-1214
Prince William Circuit Court Loudoun Circuit Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110
P. O. Box 55018 E. Market St., 3rd floor
Leesburg, VA 20178
Prince William General District Court Loudoun General District Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110-5586
18 East Market Street
Leesburg, VA 20176
Prince William Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court Loudoun Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110-5555
18 East Market Street
Leesburg, VA 20176
Virginia Beach Circuit Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway
Building 10, 4th Floor
Virginia Beach, VA 23456-9017
Virginia Beach General District Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway
Virginia Beach, VA 23456-9057
Virginia Beach Juvenile & Domestic Relations District
Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway, Building 10
Judicial Complex 10 AMunicipal Center
Virginia Beach, VA 23456
 

Virginia Statute

 

Condition

 

Penalties

Va. Code  18.2-10(a)

Punishment for conviction of felony

For Class 1 felonies If the person so convicted was 18 years of age or older at the time of the offense and is not mentally retarded, shall be imposed with:

  1. Death penalty,  or
  2. Life imprisonment subject to subdivision (g),
  3. Fine up to $100,000.

If the person so convicted was less than18 years of age at the time of the offense or is mentally retarded, shall be imposed with:

  1. Life Imprisonment subject to subdivision (g),
  2. Fine up to $100,000
Va. Code  18.2-10(b)

Punishment for conviction of felony

For Class 2 felonies
  1. Life Imprisonment subject to subdivision (g); or
  2. Imprisonment for a term not less than 20 years,
  3. Fine up to $100,000
Va. Code  18.2-10(c)

Punishment for conviction of felony

For Class 3 felonies
  1. Imprisonment for a term not less than 5 years up to 20 years, subject to subdivision (g);
  2. Fine up to $100,000
Va. Code  18.2-10(d)

Punishment for conviction of felony

For Class 4 felonies
  1. Imprisonment for a term not less than 2 years up to 10 years, subject to subdivision (g);
  2. Fine up to $100,000
Va. Code  18.2-10(e)

Punishment for conviction of felony

For Class 5 felonies
  1. Imprisonment for a term not less than 1 year up to 10 years, subject to subdivision (g);
  2. Fine up to $100,000; or
  3. In the discretion of the jury or the court trying the case without a jury, confinement in jail up to12 months and a fine of up to $2,500, either or both
Va. Code  18.2-10(f)

Punishment for conviction of felony

For Class 6 felonies
  1. Imprisonment for a term not less than 1 year up to 5 years, subject to subdivision (g);
  2. In the discretion of the jury or the court trying the case without a jury, confinement in jail up to12 months and a fine of up to $2,500, either or both
Va. Code  18.2-10(g)

Punishment for conviction of felony

Except as specifically authorized in subdivision (e) or (f), or in Class 1 felonies for which a sentence of death is imposed, the court shall impose either a sentence of imprisonment together with a fine, or imprisonment only. However, if the defendant is not a natural person, the court shall impose only a fine.
Va. Code  18.2-10

Punishment for conviction of felony

For any felony offense committed (i) on or after January 1, 1995, the court may, and (ii) on or after July 1, 2000, shall, except in cases in which the court orders a suspended term of confinement of at least six months, impose an additional term of not less than six months up to three years, which shall be suspended conditioned upon successful completion of a period of post-release supervision pursuant to  19.2-295.2 and compliance with such other terms as the sentencing court may require. However, such additional term may only be imposed when the sentence includes an active term of incarceration in a correctional facility.
Va. Code  18.2-10

Punishment for conviction of felony

For a felony offense prohibiting proximity to children as described in subsection A of  18.2-370.2, the sentencing court is authorized to impose the punishment set forth in that section in addition to any other penalty provided by law.

Felony charges in Virginia

We have client meeting locations in Fairfax Richmond Virginia Beach Loudoun Prince William Fredericksburg & Lynchburg.

We also cover the following courts in Virginia:
Herndon General District Court
765 Lynn Street,
Herndon, VA 20170
Vienna General District Court
127 South Center Street,
Vienna, VA 22180
Falls Church General District Court
300 Park Avenue, Room 107E
Falls Church, VA 22046-3350

Article written by A Sris
Click to Chat

Disclaimer:

These summaries are provided by the SRIS Law Group. They represent the firm’s unofficial views of the Justices’ opinions. The original opinions should be consulted for their authoritative content.

Felony Misdemeanor Virginia Laws 18.2-9 Fairfax Richmond Beach Loudoun Prince William

Felony/Misdemeanor Defense – Virginia Lawyers

There are many different penalties for Felony/Misdemeanor charges in Virginia. If you have been charged with a Felony/Misdemeanor in Virginia, contact our firm immediately for help.

We have client meeting locations in Fairfax Richmond Virginia Beach Loudoun Prince William Fredericksburg & Lynchburg.

Felony Misdemeanor Virginia Laws 18.2-9

Felony Misdemeanor Virginia Laws 18.2-9

Felony/Misdemeanor Defense In Virginia

Va. Code 18.2-9

18.2-9. Classification of criminal offenses.

(1) Felonies are classified, for the purposes of punishment and sentencing, into six classes:

(a) Class 1 felony

(b) Class 2 felony

(c) Class 3 felony

(d) Class 4 felony

(e) Class 5 felony

(f) Class 6 felony.

(2) Misdemeanors are classified, for the purposes of punishment and sentencing, into four classes:

(a) Class 1 misdemeanor

(b) Class 2 misdemeanor

(c) Class 3 misdemeanor

(d) Class 4 misdemeanor

Some of the courts we cover in Virginia:
Fairfax Circuit Court Richmond Circuit Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030
400 North Ninth Street
John Marshall Courts Building
Richmond, VA 23219
Fairfax General District Court Richmond General District Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030
920 Hull Street, Northside
Richmond, VA 23224-4070
Fairfax Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court Richmond Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030-4020
Oliver Hill Courts Building
1600 Oliver Hill WaySuite C181
Richmond, VA 23219-1214
Prince William Circuit Court Loudoun Circuit Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110
P. O. Box 55018 E. Market St., 3rd floor
Leesburg, VA 20178
Prince William General District Court Loudoun General District Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110-5586
18 East Market Street
Leesburg, VA 20176
Prince William Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court Loudoun Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110-5555
18 East Market Street
Leesburg, VA 20176
Virginia Beach Circuit Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway
Building 10, 4th Floor
Virginia Beach, VA 23456-9017
Virginia Beach General District Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway
Virginia Beach, VA 23456-9057
Virginia Beach Juvenile & Domestic Relations District
Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway, Building 10
Judicial Complex 10 AMunicipal Center
Virginia Beach, VA 23456
 

Virginia Statute

 

Condition

 

Classification

Va. Code  18.2-9

Classification of criminal offenses

Felonies are classified, for the purposes of punishment and sentencing, into six classes Class 1 felony

Class 2 felony

Class 3 felony

Class 4 felony

Class 5 felony

Class 6 felony

Misdemeanors are classified, for the purposes of punishment and sentencing, into four classes Class 1 misdemeanor

Class 2 misdemeanor

Class 3 misdemeanor

Class 4 misdemeanor

We have client meeting locations in Fairfax Richmond Virginia Beach Loudoun Prince William Fredericksburg & Lynchburg.

Felony/Misdemeanor Defense In Virginia.

We also cover the following courts in Virginia:
Herndon General District Court
765 Lynn Street,
Herndon, VA 20170
Vienna General District Court
127 South Center Street,
Vienna, VA 22180
Falls Church General District Court
300 Park Avenue, Room 107E
Falls Church, VA 22046-3350

Article written by A Sris
Click to Chat

Disclaimer:

These summaries are provided by the SRIS Law Group. They represent the firm’s unofficial views of the Justices’ opinions. The original opinions should be consulted for their authoritative content.

Felony Misdemeanor Virginia Laws 18.2-8 Definition Fairfax Richmond Beach Loudoun Prince William

Felony/Misdemeanor Defense – Virginia Lawyers

There are many different penalties for Felony/Misdemeanor charges in Virginia.

If you have been charged with a Felony/Misdemeanor in Virginia, contact our firm immediately for help.

We have client meeting locations in Fairfax Richmond Virginia Beach Loudoun Prince William Fredericksburg & Lynchburg.

Felony Misdemeanor Virginia Laws 18.2-8

Felony Misdemeanor Virginia Laws 18.2-8

Felony/Misdemeanor Defense In Virginia

Va. Code 18.2-8

18.2-8. Felonies, misdemeanors and traffic infractions defined.

Offenses are either felonies or misdemeanors. Such offenses as are punishable with death or confinement in a state correctional facility are felonies; all other offenses are misdemeanors. Traffic infractions are violations of public order as defined in 46.2-100 and not deemed to be criminal in nature.

Some of the courts we cover in Virginia:
Fairfax Circuit Court Richmond Circuit Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030
400 North Ninth Street
John Marshall Courts Building
Richmond, VA 23219
Fairfax General District Court Richmond General District Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030
920 Hull Street, Northside
Richmond, VA 23224-4070
Fairfax Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court Richmond Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030-4020
Oliver Hill Courts Building
1600 Oliver Hill WaySuite C181
Richmond, VA 23219-1214
Prince William Circuit Court Loudoun Circuit Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110
P. O. Box 55018 E. Market St., 3rd floor
Leesburg, VA 20178
Prince William General District Court Loudoun General District Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110-5586
18 East Market Street
Leesburg, VA 20176
Prince William Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court Loudoun Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110-5555
18 East Market Street
Leesburg, VA 20176
Virginia Beach Circuit Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway
Building 10, 4th Floor
Virginia Beach, VA 23456-9017
Virginia Beach General District Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway
Virginia Beach, VA 23456-9057
Virginia Beach Juvenile & Domestic Relations District
Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway, Building 10
Judicial Complex 10 AMunicipal Center
Virginia Beach, VA 23456
 Virginia statute  Condition  Definition
Va. Code 18.2-8Felonies, misdemeanors and traffic infractions defined Felonies Such offenses as are punishable with death or confinement in a state correctional facility
Misdemeanors All other offenses other than felonies are misdemeanors
Traffic infractions Violations of public order as defined in  46.2-100 and not deemed to be criminal in nature

We have client meeting locations in Fairfax Richmond Virginia Beach Loudoun Prince William Fredericksburg & Lynchburg.

Felony/Misdemeanor Defense In Virginia.

We also cover the following courts in Virginia:

Herndon General District Court
765 Lynn Street,
Herndon, VA 20170
Vienna General District Court
127 South Center Street,
Vienna, VA 22180
Falls Church General District Court
300 Park Avenue, Room 107E
Falls Church, VA 22046-3350

Article written by A Sris
Click to Chat

Disclaimer:

These summaries are provided by the SRIS Law Group. They represent the firm’s unofficial views of the Justices’ opinions. The original opinions should be consulted for their authoritative content.

Simple Possession Marijuana Law 18.2-250.1 Virginia Laws Fairfax Richmond Beach Loudoun Prince William

Simple Possession of Marijuana Defense – Virginia Lawyers

There is one specific statute that provides the definition of simple possession of marijuana in Virginia. Virginia Code 18.2-250.1. First and foremost, it is a misdemeanor charge.

If you have been charged with simple possession of marijuana in Virginia, contact our firm immediately for help.

We have client meeting locations in Fairfax, Richmond, Virginia Beach, Loudoun, Prince William, Fredericksburg & Lynchburg.

Simple Possession Marijuana Law 18.2-250.1

Simple Possession Marijuana Law 18.2-250.1

Virginia Code 18.2-250.1. Possession of marijuana unlawful.

A. It is unlawful for any person knowingly or intentionally to possess marijuana unless the substance was obtained directly from, or pursuant to, a valid prescription or order of a practitioner while acting in the course of his professional practice, or except as otherwise authorized by the Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.).

Upon the prosecution of a person for violation of this section, ownership or occupancy of the premises or vehicle upon or in which marijuana was found shall not create a presumption that such person either knowingly or intentionally possessed such marijuana.

Any person who violates this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and be confined in jail not more than thirty days and a fine of not more than $500, either or both; any person, upon a second or subsequent conviction of a violation of this section, shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.

B. The provisions of this section shall not apply to members of state, federal, county, city or town law-enforcement agencies, jail officers, or correctional officers, as defined in § 53.1-1, certified as handlers of dogs trained in the detection of controlled substances when possession of marijuana is necessary for the performance of their duties.

Some of the courts we cover in Virginia:
Fairfax Circuit Court Richmond Circuit Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030
400 North Ninth Street
John Marshall Courts Building
Richmond, VA 23219
Fairfax General District Court Richmond General District Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030
920 Hull Street, Northside
Richmond, VA 23224-4070
Fairfax Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court Richmond Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030-4020
Oliver Hill Courts Building
1600 Oliver Hill WaySuite C181
Richmond, VA 23219-1214
Prince William Circuit Court Loudoun Circuit Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110
P. O. Box 55018 E. Market St., 3rd floor
Leesburg, VA 20178
Prince William General District Court Loudoun General District Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110-5586
18 East Market Street
Leesburg, VA 20176
Prince William Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court Loudoun Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110-5555
18 East Market Street
Leesburg, VA 20176
Virginia Beach Circuit Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway
Building 10, 4th Floor
Virginia Beach, VA 23456-9017
Virginia Beach General District Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway
Virginia Beach, VA 23456-9057
Virginia Beach Juvenile & Domestic Relations District
Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway, Building 10
Judicial Complex 10 AMunicipal Center
Virginia Beach, VA 23456
Virginia Statute Penalties
Va. Code Ann § 18.2-250.1 Any person who knowingly or intentionally possesses marijuana unless the substance was obtained directly from, or pursuant to, a valid prescription or order of a practitioner First Offense Shall be guilty of misdemeanor. Imprisoned up to 30 days and fine up to $500, either or both
Second or Subsequent Offense Class 1 misdemeanor

If you have been charged with simple possession of marijuana in Virginia, contact If you have been charged with simple possesion of marijuana in Virginia, contact our firm immediately for help.

We have client meeting locations in Fairfax, Richmond, Virginia Beach, Loudoun, Prince William, Fredericksburg & Lynchburg.

We also cover the following courts in Virginia:

Herndon General District Court
765 Lynn Street,
Herndon, VA 20170
Vienna General District Court
127 South Center Street,
Vienna, VA 22180
Falls Church General District Court
300 Park Avenue, Room 107E
Falls Church, VA 22046-3350

Article written by A Sris
Click to Chat

Disclaimer:

These summaries are provided by the SRIS Law Group. They represent the firm’s unofficial views of the Justices’ opinions. The original opinions should be consulted for their authoritative content.

Domestic Violence Assault Battery Family Member Virginia Laws 18.2-57.2 Fairfax Richmond Beach Loudoun Prince William

Domestic Violence Against a Family Member Defense – Virginia Lawyers

There is one specific statute that provides the definition of Domestic Violence Against a Family Member. Virginia Code 18.2-57. First and foremost, it is a misdemeanor charge.

If you have been charged with Domestic Violence Against a Family Member in Virginia, contact our firm immediately for help.

Domestic Violence Assault Battery Family Member Virginia Laws 18.2-57.2

Domestic Violence Assault Battery Family Member Virginia Laws 18.2-57.2

We have client meeting locations in Fairfax, Richmond, Virginia Beach, Loudoun, Prince William, Fredericksburg & Lynchburg.

Virginia Code 18.2-57.2. Assault and battery against a family or household member; penalty.

  • Any person who commits an assault and battery against a family or household member is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
  • Upon a conviction for assault and battery against a family or household member, where it is alleged in the warrant, petition, information, or indictment on which a person is convicted, that such person has been previously convicted of two offenses against a family or household member of (i) assault and battery against a family or household member in violation of this section, (ii) malicious wounding in violation of § 18.2-51, (iii) aggravated malicious wounding in violation of § 18.2-51.2, (iv) malicious bodily injury by means of a substance in violation of § 18.2-52, or (v) an offense under the law of any other jurisdiction which has the same elements of any of the above offenses, in any combination, all of which occurred within a period of 20 years, and each of which occurred on a different date, such person is guilty of a Class 6 felony.
  • Whenever a warrant for a violation of this section is issued, the magistrate shall issue an emergency protective order as authorized by § 16.1-253.4, except if the defendant is a minor, an emergency protective order shall not be required.
  • The definition of “family or household member” in § 16.1-228 applies to this section.
Some of the courts we cover in Virginia:
Fairfax Circuit Court Richmond Circuit Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030
400 North Ninth Street
John Marshall Courts Building
Richmond, VA 23219
Fairfax General District Court Richmond General District Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030
920 Hull Street, Northside
Richmond, VA 23224-4070
Fairfax Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court Richmond Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030-4020
Oliver Hill Courts Building
1600 Oliver Hill WaySuite C181
Richmond, VA 23219-1214
Prince William Circuit Court Loudoun Circuit Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110
P. O. Box 55018 E. Market St., 3rd floor
Leesburg, VA 20178
Prince William General District Court Loudoun General District Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110-5586
18 East Market Street
Leesburg, VA 20176
Prince William Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court Loudoun Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110-5555
18 East Market Street
Leesburg, VA 20176
Virginia Beach Circuit Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway
Building 10, 4th Floor
Virginia Beach, VA 23456-9017
Virginia Beach General District Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway
Virginia Beach, VA 23456-9057
Virginia Beach Juvenile & Domestic Relations District
Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway, Building 10
Judicial Complex 10 AMunicipal Center
Virginia Beach, VA 23456
Virginia Statute Description Penalties
Va. Code Ann § 18.2-57.2 Any person who commits an assault and battery against a family or household member First Offense Class 1 misdemeanor
Subsequent conviction within 20 years, who had been previously convicted of two offenses against a family or household member such as assault and battery, malicious wounding, aggravated malicious wounding, malicious bodily injury Class 6 Felony

If you have been charged with Domestic Violence Against a Family Member in Virginia, contact our firm immediately for help.

We have client meeting locations in Fairfax, Richmond, Virginia Beach, Loudoun, Prince William, Fredericksburg & Lynchburg.

We also cover the following courts in Virginia:

Herndon General District Court
765 Lynn Street,
Herndon, VA 20170
Vienna General District Court
127 South Center Street,
Vienna, VA 22180
Falls Church General District Court
300 Park Avenue, Room 107E
Falls Church, VA 22046-3350

Article written by A Sris
Click to Chat

Disclaimer:

These summaries are provided by the SRIS Law Group. They represent the firm’s unofficial views of the Justices’ opinions. The original opinions should be consulted for their authoritative content.

Violation Protective Order Virginia Laws 18.2-60.4 Fairfax Richmond Beach Loudoun Prince William

Violation of A Protective Order Defense – Virginia Lawyers

There is one specific statute that provides the definition of violation of a protective order. Virginia Code 18.2-60.4. First and foremost, it is a misdemeanor charge.

If you have been charged with violation of a protective order in Virginia, contact our firm immediately for help.
We have client meeting locations in Fairfax, Richmond, Virginia Beach, Loudoun, Prince William, Fredericksburg & Lynchburg.

Violation Protective Order Virginia Laws 18.2-60.4

Violation Protective Order Virginia Laws 18.2-60.4

§ 18.2-60.4. Violation of protective orders; penalty.

Any person who violates any provision of a protective order issued pursuant to § 19.2-152.8, 19.2-152.9 or 19.2-152.10 is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. Conviction hereunder shall bar a finding of contempt for the same act. The punishment for any person convicted of a second offense of violating a protective order, when the offense is committed within five years of the prior conviction and when either the instant or prior offense was based on an act or threat of violence, shall include a mandatory minimum term of confinement of 60 days. Any person convicted of a third or subsequent offense of violating a protective order, when the offense is committed within 20 years of the first conviction and when either the instant or one of the prior offenses was based on an act or threat of violence, is guilty of a Class 6 felony and the punishment shall include a mandatory minimum term of confinement of six months.

If the respondent commits an assault and battery upon any party protected by the protective order resulting in serious bodily injury to the party, he is guilty of a Class 6 felony. Any person who violates such a protective order by furtively entering the home of any protected party while the party is present, or by entering and remaining in the home of the protected party until the party arrives, is guilty of a Class 6 felony, in addition to any other penalty provided by law.

Upon conviction of any offense here under for which a mandatory minimum term of confinement is not specified, the person shall be sentenced to a term of confinement and in no case shall the entire term imposed be suspended.

Upon conviction, the court shall, in addition to the sentence imposed, enter a protective order pursuant to § 19.2-152.10 for a specified period not exceeding two years from the date of conviction.

Some of the courts we cover in Virginia:

Fairfax Circuit Court Richmond Circuit Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030
400 North Ninth Street
John Marshall Courts Building
Richmond, VA 23219
Fairfax General District Court Richmond General District Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030
920 Hull Street, Northside
Richmond, VA 23224-4070
Fairfax Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court Richmond Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030-4020
Oliver Hill Courts Building
1600 Oliver Hill WaySuite C181
Richmond, VA 23219-1214
Prince William Circuit Court Loudoun Circuit Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110
P. O. Box 55018 E. Market St., 3rd floor
Leesburg, VA 20178
Prince William General District Court Loudoun General District Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110-5586
18 East Market Street
Leesburg, VA 20176
Prince William Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court Loudoun Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110-5555
18 East Market Street
Leesburg, VA 20176
Virginia Beach Circuit Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway
Building 10, 4th Floor
Virginia Beach, VA 23456-9017
Virginia Beach General District Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway
Virginia Beach, VA 23456-9057
Virginia Beach Juvenile & Domestic Relations District
Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway, Building 10
Judicial Complex 10 AMunicipal Center
Virginia Beach, VA 23456
Va. Statutes Description Penalties
Va Code § 18.2-60.4 Violation of protective orders Violation of Emergency protective order under Va Code § 19.2-152.8 which expires at 11:59 p.m. on the third day following issuance Class 1 Misdemeanor
Violation of Preliminary Protective Order under Va Code § 19.2-152.9 which remains in effect until the hearing
Protective order under Va Code § 19.2-152.10. which expires at 11:59 p.m. on the last day specified or at 11:59 p.m. on the last day of the two-year period if no date is specified
Va Code § 18.2-60.4 Violation of protective orders(Second offense within 5 years and when current or prior violation was based on an act or threat of violence) Mandatory minimum term of confinement of 60 days
Va Code § 18.2-60.4 Violation of protective orders(Third offense within 20 years of first conviction and when current or prior violations were based on an act or threat of violence) Class 6 felony and the punishment shall include a mandatory minimum term of confinement of six months.
Va Code § 18.2-60.4 Committing assault and battery upon party protected by the protective order resulting in serious bodily injury. Class 6 felony
Violating a protective order by furtively entering the protected party’s home while the party is present, or by entering and remaining in the home of the protected party until the party arrives Class 6 felony in addition to any other penalty provided by law.
Va Code § 18.2-60.4 When mandatory minimum term of confinement is not specified for this statute, the person shall be sentenced to a term of confinement and in no case shall the entire term imposed be suspended.
Va Code § 18.2-60.4 Upon conviction, the court shall, in addition to the sentence imposed, enter a protective order pursuant to § 19.2-152.10 for a specified period not exceeding two years from the date of conviction.

If you have been charged with violation of a protective order in Virginia, contact our firm immediately for help.

We have client meeting locations in Fairfax, Richmond, Virginia Beach, Loudoun, Prince William, Fredericksburg & Lynchburg.

We also cover the following courts in Virginia:

Herndon General District Court
765 Lynn Street,
Herndon, VA 20170
Vienna General District Court
127 South Center Street,
Vienna, VA 22180
Falls Church General District Court
300 Park Avenue, Room 107E
Falls Church, VA 22046-3350

Article written by A Sris
Click to Chat

Disclaimer:

These summaries are provided by the SRIS Law Group. They represent the firm’s unofficial views of the Justices’ opinions. The original opinions should be consulted for their authoritative content.

Class One Misdemeanor Virginia Laws 18.2-11 Fairfax Richmond Beach Prince William Loudoun

Virginia Code For Misdemeanor

§ 18.2-9 (2). Classification of criminal offenses.

Misdemeanors are classified, for the purposes of punishment and sentencing, into four classes:

  1. Class 1 misdemeanor
  2. Class 2 misdemeanor
  3. Class 3 misdemeanor
  4. Class 4 misdemeanor.
Class One Misdemeanor Virginia Laws

Class One Misdemeanor Virginia Laws

VIRGINIA – PENALTIES FOR CONVICTION OF MISDEMEANOR

Va. Code 18.2 – 11

MISDEMEANOR

PUNISHMENT FOR CONVICTION OF MISDEMEANOR

CLASS 1 Confinement in jail for not more than twelve months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both
CLASS 2 Confinement in jail for not more than six months and a
fine of not more than $1,000, either or both
CLASS 3 A fine of not more than $500
CLASS 4 A fine of not more than $250

What is a Class1 misdemeanor in Virginia?

As stated above, Virginia has 4 levels of misdemeanors. Class 1 Misdemeanor is the highest level of misdemeanor in Virginia. The penalties for a class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia can result in an actual jail sentence.

Our firm assists clients charged with misdemeanors in Virginia. We have client meeting locations in the following locations: Fairfax, Richmond, Virginia Beach, Prince William, Loudoun & Fredericksburg & Lynchburg

Virginia Code § 18.2-11. Punishment for conviction of misdemeanor.

The authorized punishments for conviction of a misdemeanor are:

  • For Class 1 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than twelve months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both.
  • For Class 2 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than six months and a fine of not more than $1,000, either or both.
  • For Class 3 misdemeanors, a fine of not more than $500.
  • For Class 4 misdemeanors, a fine of not more than $250.

For a misdemeanor offense prohibiting proximity to children as described in subsection A of § 18.2-370.2, the sentencing court is authorized to impose the punishment set forth in subsection B of that section in addition to any other penalty provided by law.

Some of the courts we cover in Virginia:

Fairfax Circuit Court Richmond Circuit Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030
400 North Ninth Street
John Marshall Courts Building
Richmond, VA 23219
Fairfax General District Court Richmond General District Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030
920 Hull Street, Northside
Richmond, VA 23224-4070
Fairfax Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court Richmond Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030-4020
Oliver Hill Courts Building
1600 Oliver Hill WaySuite C181
Richmond, VA 23219-1214
Prince William Circuit Court Loudoun Circuit Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110
P. O. Box 55018 E. Market St., 3rd floor
Leesburg, VA 20178
Prince William General District Court Loudoun General District Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110-5586
18 East Market Street
Leesburg, VA 20176
Prince William Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court Loudoun Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110-5555
18 East Market Street
Leesburg, VA 20176

 

Virginia Beach Circuit Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway
Building 10, 4th Floor
Virginia Beach, VA 23456-9017
Virginia Beach General District Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway
Virginia Beach, VA 23456-9057
Virginia Beach Juvenile & Domestic Relations District
Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway, Building 10
Judicial Complex 10 AMunicipal Center
Virginia Beach, VA 23456

 Virginia Code § 18.2-12. Same; where no punishment or maximum punishment prescribed.

A misdemeanor for which no punishment or no maximum punishment is prescribed by statute shall be punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor.

we also cover the following courts in Virginia:

Herndon General District Court
765 Lynn Street,
Herndon, VA 20170
Vienna General District Court
127 South Center Street,
Vienna, VA 22180
Falls Church General District Court
300 Park Avenue, Room 107E
Falls Church, VA 22046-3350

Article written by A Sris
Click to Chat

Disclaimer:

These summaries are provided by the SRIS Law Group. They represent the firm’s unofficial views of the Justices’ opinions. The original opinions should be consulted for their authoritative content.

Virginia Suspended License Defense Laws Fairfax Richmond Beach Loudoun Prince William

SUSPENDED LICENSE DEFENSE VIRGINIA LAWYER

Virginia Traffic Lawyer

Our firm defends clients charged with driving on suspended license or revoked license or no operator’s license in Virginia. The penalties for driving on a suspended license are a maximum of $2500 fine and 1 year in jail.

We have client meeting locations throughout Virginia: Fairfax, Richmond, Virginia Beach, Prince William, Loudoun, Fredericksburg & Lynchburg.

Virginia Suspended License Defense Laws

Virginia Suspended License Defense Laws

If you have been charged with malicious wounding, contact us immediately. We have the experience necessary to defend you.

Virginia Driving On Suspended License:

Virginia Code 46.2-301. Driving while license, permit, or privilege to drive suspended or revoked

  1. A. In addition to any other penalty provided by this section, any motor vehicle administratively impounded or immobilized under the provisions of § 46.2-301.1 may, in the discretion of the court, be impounded or immobilized for an additional period of up to 90 days upon conviction of an offender for driving while his driver’s license, learner’s permit, or privilege to drive a motor vehicle has been suspended or revoked for (i) a violation of § 18.2-36.1, 18.2-51.4, 18.2-266, 18.2-272, or 46.2-341.24 or a substantially similar ordinance or law in any other jurisdiction or (ii) driving after adjudication as an habitual offender, where such adjudication was based in whole or in part on an alcohol-related offense, or where such person’s license has been administratively suspended under the provisions of § 46.2-391.2. However, if, at the time of the violation, the offender was driving a motor vehicle owned by another person, the court shall have no jurisdiction over such motor vehicle but may order the impoundment or immobilization of a motor vehicle owned solely by the offender at the time of arrest. All costs of impoundment or immobilization, including removal or storage expenses, shall be paid by the offender prior to the release of his motor vehicle.
  2. B. Except as provided in §§ 46.2-304 and 46.2-357, no resident or nonresident (i) whose driver’s license, learner’s permit, or privilege to drive a motor vehicle has been suspended or revoked or (ii) who has been directed not to drive by any court or by the Commissioner, or (iii) who has been forbidden, as prescribed by operation of any statute of the Commonwealth or a substantially similar ordinance of any county, city or town, to operate a motor vehicle in the Commonwealth shall thereafter drive any motor vehicle or any self-propelled machinery or equipment on any highway in the Commonwealth until the period of such suspension or revocation has terminated or the privilege has been reinstated or a restricted license is issued pursuant to subsection E. A clerk’s notice of suspension of license for failure to pay fines or costs given in accordance with § 46.2-395 shall be sufficient notice for the purpose of maintaining a conviction under this section. For the purposes of this section, the phrase “motor vehicle or any self-propelled machinery or equipment” shall not include mopeds.
  3. C. A violation of subsection B is a Class 1 misdemeanor. A third or subsequent offense occurring within a 10-year period shall include a mandatory minimum term of confinement in jail of 10 days. However, the court shall not be required to impose a mandatory minimum term of confinement in any case where a motor vehicle is operated in violation of this section in a situation of apparent extreme emergency which requires such operation to save life or limb.
  4. D. Upon a violation of subsection B, the court shall suspend the person’s license or privilege to drive a motor vehicle for the same period for which it had been previously suspended or revoked. In the event the person violated subsection B by driving during a period of suspension or revocation which was not for a definite period of time, the court shall suspend the person’s license, permit or privilege to drive for an additional period not to exceed 90 days, to commence upon the expiration of the previous suspension or revocation or to commence immediately if the previous suspension or revocation has expired.
  5. E. Any person who is otherwise eligible for a restricted license may petition each court that suspended his license pursuant to subsection D for authorization for a restricted license, provided that the period of time for which the license was suspended by the court pursuant to subsection D, if measured from the date of conviction, has expired, even though the suspension itself has not expired. A court may, for good cause shown, authorize the Department of Motor Vehicles to issue a restricted license for any of the purposes set forth in subsection E of § 18.2-271.1. No restricted license shall be issued unless each court that issued a suspension of the person’s license pursuant to subsection D authorizes the Department to issue a restricted license. Any restricted license issued pursuant to this subsection shall be in effect until the expiration of any and all suspensions issued pursuant to subsection D, except that it shall automatically terminate upon the expiration, cancellation, suspension, or revocation of the person’s license or privilege to drive for any other cause. No restricted license issued pursuant to this subsection shall permit a person to operate a commercial motor vehicle as defined in the Commercial Driver’s License Act (§ 46.2-341.1 et seq.). The court shall forward to the Commissioner a copy of its authorization entered pursuant to this subsection, which shall specifically enumerate the restrictions imposed and contain such information regarding the person to whom such a license is issued as is reasonably necessary to identify the person. The court shall also provide a copy of its authorization to the person, who may not operate a motor vehicle until receipt from the Commissioner of a restricted license. A copy of the restricted license issued by the Commissioner shall be carried at all times while operating a motor vehicle.
  6. F. Any person who operates a motor vehicle or any self-propelled machinery or equipment in violation of the terms of a restricted license issued pursuant to subsection E of § 18.2-271.1 is not guilty of a violation of this section but is guilty of a violation of § 18.2-272.

Some of the courts we cover in Virginia:

Fairfax Circuit Court Richmond Circuit Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030
400 North Ninth Street
John Marshall Courts Building
Richmond, VA 23219
Fairfax General District Court Richmond General District Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030
920 Hull Street, Northside
Richmond, VA 23224-4070
Fairfax Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court Richmond Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030-4020
Oliver Hill Courts Building
1600 Oliver Hill WaySuite C181
Richmond, VA 23219-1214
Prince William Circuit Court Loudoun Circuit Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110
P. O. Box 55018 E. Market St., 3rd floor
Leesburg, VA 20178
Prince William General District Court Loudoun General District Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110-5586
18 East Market Street
Leesburg, VA 20176
Prince William Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court Loudoun Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court
9311 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110-5555
18 East Market Street
Leesburg, VA 20176

 

Virginia Beach Circuit Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway
Building 10, 4th Floor
Virginia Beach, VA 23456-9017
Virginia Beach General District Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway
Virginia Beach, VA 23456-9057
Virginia Beach Juvenile & Domestic Relations District
Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway, Building 10
Judicial Complex 10 AMunicipal Center
Virginia Beach, VA 23456

VIRGINIA CODE 46.2-301- SUSPENDED LICENSE

Name of offense Statute What constitutes an offense Punishment
Driving on suspended license Va Code § 46.2-301(A) Driving while license, learner’s has been suspended or revoked for a violation of § 18.2-36.1, 18.2-51.4, 18.2-266, 18.2-272, or 46.2-341.24 or driving after adjudication as an habitual offender Impounded or immobilized for an additional period of up to 90 days
Va Code §46.2-301(B) Driving after license is suspended or after being forbidden to drive by any court or the Commissioner, or forbidden by operation of any statutes of the Commonwealth Class 1 misdemeanor
Driving on suspended license – a third or subsequent offense occurring within a 10-year period Va Code §46.2-301(C) Third offense within 10 years driving on a suspended license Mandatory minimum term of confinement in jail of 10 days
Virginia. Code §46.2-301(D) Upon a violation of subsection B The court shall suspend the person’s license or privilege to drive a motor vehicle for the same period for which it had been previously suspended or revoked.Or

When the suspension or revocation was not for a definite period of time, the court shall suspend the person’s license, permit or privilege to drive for an additional period not to exceed 90 days, to commence upon the expiration of the previous suspension or revocation or to commence immediately if the previous suspension or revocation has expired.

We also cover the following courts in Virginia:

Herndon General District Court
765 Lynn Street,
Herndon, VA 20170
Vienna General District Court
127 South Center Street,
Vienna, VA 22180
Falls Church General District Court
300 Park Avenue, Room 107E
Falls Church, VA 22046-3350

Article written by A Sris
Click to Chat

Disclaimer:

These summaries are provided by the SRIS Law Group. They represent the firm’s unofficial views of the Justices’ opinions. The original opinions should be consulted for their authoritative content.

Hit Run Laws Virginia Laws 46.2-894 Fairfax Richmond Beach Loudoun Prince William

Hit & Run Defense – Virginia Lawyers

There are many different applicable laws & penalties for hit & run charges in Virginia. First and foremost, it can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony offense.

If you have been charged with hit & run in Virginia, contact our law firm immediately for help.

We have client meeting locations in Fairfax, Richmond, Virginia Beach, Loudoun, Prince William, Fredericksburg & Lynchburg.

Virginia Code 46.2-894. Duty of driver to stop, etc., in event of accident involving injury or death or damage to attended property; penalty.

Hit Run Laws Virginia Laws 46.2-894

Hit Run Laws Virginia Laws 46.2-894

The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident in which a person is killed or injured or in which an attended vehicle or other attended property is damaged shall immediately stop as close to the scene of the accident as possible without obstructing traffic, as provided in § 46.2-888, and report his name, address, driver’s license number, and vehicle registration number forthwith to the State Police or local law-enforcement agency, to the person struck and injured if such person appears to be capable of understanding and retaining the information, or to the driver or some other occupant of the vehicle collided with or to the custodian of other damaged property. The driver shall also render reasonable assistance to any person injured in such accident, including taking such injured person to a physician, surgeon, or hospital if it is apparent that medical treatment is necessary or is requested by the injured person.

Where, because of injuries sustained in the accident, the driver is prevented from complying with the foregoing provisions of this section, the driver shall, as soon as reasonably possible, make the required report to the State Police or local law-enforcement agency and make a reasonable effort to locate the person struck, or the driver or some other occupant of the vehicle collided with, or the custodian of the damaged property, and report to such person or persons his name, address, driver’s license number, and vehicle registration number.

Any person convicted of a violation of this section is guilty of (i) a Class 5 felony if the accident results in injury to or the death of any person, or if the accident results in more than $ 1000 of damage to property or (ii) a Class 1 misdemeanor if the accident results in damage of $ 1000 or less to property.

Virginia Code 46.2-900. Penalty for violation of §§ 46.2-895 through 46.2-897.

Any person convicted of violating the provisions of §§ 46.2-895 through 46.2-897 shall, if such accident results in injury to or the death of any person, be guilty of a Class 6 felony. If such accident results only in damage to property, the person so convicted shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor; however, if the vehicle or other property struck is unattended and such damage is less than $250, such person shall be guilty of a Class 4 misdemeanor. A motor vehicle operator convicted of a Class 4 misdemeanor under this section shall be assigned three demerit points by the Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles.

Virginia Code 46.2-901. Suspension of driver’s license for failure to report certain accidents.

Any person convicted of violating the provisions of §§ 46.2-894 through 46.2-897 may be punished, in addition to the penalties provided in §§ 46.2-894 and 46.2-900, if such accident resulted only in damage to property and such damage exceeded $500, by suspension of his license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle on the highways of the Commonwealth for a period not to exceed six months by the court. This section shall in no case be construed to limit the authority or duty of the Commissioner with respect to revocation of licenses for violation of §§ 46.2-894 through 46.2-897 as provided in Article 10 (§ 46.2-364 et seq.) of Chapter 3 of this title. Any license revoked under the provisions of this section shall be surrendered to the court to be disposed of in accordance with the provisions of § 46.2-398.

Some of the courts we cover in Virginia:

Fairfax Circuit Court Richmond Circuit Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road

Fairfax, VA 22030

400 North Ninth Street

John Marshall Courts Building

Richmond, VA 23219

Fairfax General District Court Richmond General District Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road

Fairfax, VA 22030

920 Hull Street, Northside

Richmond, VA 23224-4070

Fairfax Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court Richmond Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court
4110 Chain Bridge Road

Fairfax, VA 22030-4020

Oliver Hill Courts Building

1600 Oliver Hill WaySuite C181

Richmond, VA 23219-1214

Prince William Circuit Court Loudoun Circuit Court
9311 Lee Avenue

Manassas, VA 20110

P. O. Box 55018 E. Market St., 3rd floor

Leesburg, VA 20178

Prince William General District Court Loudoun General District Court
9311 Lee Avenue

Manassas, VA 20110-5586

18 East Market Street

Leesburg, VA 20176

Prince William Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court Loudoun Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court
9311 Lee Avenue

Manassas, VA 20110-5555

18 East Market Street

Leesburg, VA 20176

 

Virginia Beach Circuit Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway

Building 10, 4th Floor

Virginia Beach, VA 23456-9017

Virginia Beach General District Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway

Virginia Beach, VA 23456-9057

Virginia Beach Juvenile & Domestic Relations District
Court
2425 Nimmo Parkway, Building 10

Judicial Complex 10AMunicipal Center

Virginia Beach, VA 23456

HIT RUN LAWS VIRGINIA LAWS 46.2-894

Va. Code Penalties
Hit & Run Laws Virginia

DUTY OF THE DRIVER

Va. Code § 46.2-894

Duty of the driver to stop in event of accident involving injury or
death or damage to attended property.

If the accident results in injury to or the death of any person, or if the accident results in more than $1000 of damage to property. Class 5 Felony (imprisonment 1 to 10 years, or in the discretion of the jury or the court — confinement in jail for up to 12 months or fine up to $2,500 either or both)
If the accident results in damage of $1000 or less to
property.
Class 1 Misdemeanor (Imprisonment up to 12 months or
fine up to $2,500 either or both)
Hit & Run Laws Virginia

Va. Code § 46.2-900

Duty of the driver to stop in event of accident involving injury or death ordamage to unattended property.

If the accident results in more than $250 of damage to property. Class 1 Misdemeanor (Imprisonment up to 12 months or
fine up to $2,500 either or both)
If the accident results in less than $250 of damage to property Class 4 Misdemeanor (Fine up to $250)
Hit & Run Laws Virginia

DUTY OF THE CO-PASSENGER

Va. Code § 46.2-900.

In case the driver fails to stop and make the report then it’s a duty of the co-passenger who were sixteen years or older in the vehicle shall
inform to the police regarding the accident within 24 hours

Accidents involving injury, death, or damage to attended property Class 6 felony (imprisonment of 1 to 5 years, or
confinement in jail up to 12 months and a fine up to $2,500, either or both.)
Accident in which no person is killed or injured, but
caused damage to the unattended property, in which damage is more than $250
Class 1 Misdemeanor (Imprisonment up to 12 months or fine up to $2,500 either or both)
Accident in which no person is killed or injured, but
caused damage to the unattended property, in which damage is less than $250
Class 4 Misdemeanor (Fine up to $250)
Hit & Run Laws Virginia

Va. Code § 46.2-901

In case of above said accident resulted only in damage to property and such damage exceeded $500. In addition to the above mentioned penalties the
driver’s license may be suspended up to six months.

If you have been charged with hit & run in Virginia, contact our firm immediately for help.

We have client meeting locations in Fairfax, Richmond, Virginia Beach, Loudoun, Prince William, Fredericksburg & Lynchburg.

we also covered the following courts in Virginia:

Herndon General District Court
765 Lynn Street,

Herndon, VA 20170

Vienna General District Court
127 South Center Street,

Vienna, VA 22180

Falls Church General District Court
300 Park Avenue, Room 107E

Falls Church, VA 22046-3350

 

Article written by A Sris
Click to Chat

Disclaimer:

These summaries are provided by the SRIS Law Group. They represent the firm’s unofficial views of the Justices’ opinions. The original opinions should be consulted for their authoritative content.